My Family Tested Positive For COVID-19!

Sorry, Auntie!😔

Shem Martin
5 min readMar 24, 2021

Before I even start this article, I would like to say that this is really hard to write. I got this news just yesterday and thought that I would try and make public how covid feels when it affects a loved family member, my motivation for writing this is to make to you what is unfamiliar, familiar. This might help anyone out there who might go through something similar or whose friend or loved one is. I will try to articulate this as best as I can.

I would also like to remind you that strength is one virtue that will surely serve you and the people around you in the hardest and toughest of times, and it will make sure that you come out the other side better and much more resilient than you came in. There are times where we should practice love, support, empathy, sympathy, there are times where we should extend a helping hand, there are times where we should show trust, there are times where we should yield and submit and learn and there are just times where we should just be plain strong and unshaken. For me, this is that time

I clearly remember the precautions we took when Covid struck my Country. My Auntie was not playing. We bought everything in bulk; soap, sanitizers, tissue, serviettes, cleaning appliances, clean water, pocket bottles filled with a sanitizer, food, veggies, fruits, anything that demanded us to go out where it was crowded was bought in advance and in bulk. This was back last year in March. My Auntie made sure that everywhere she went she spread the word that Covid was real. Of course, it was, but do you think I took it seriously? No, I didn’t.

My attitude was naive to a childish extent, that I will admit. Despite hearing and seeing countless people with covid get infected and inevitably die, I did not see it as a threat. This was a big mistake but my attitude did not deter me from following and committing to the precautions set. I followed them to the letter. Now, I would like to point out something here. Our beliefs might sometimes be different, but there are people who believe otherwise. Knowing this means that as you have been given the freedom to think on your own, you should also let others think for themselves too. This does not mean that they are scared, naïve, stupid, crazy, or trying to get under your skin. It is just what they believe. So accept it, do what needs to be done, and move on.

So I made sure I followed everything said, and If you really think about it, what the hell do I know, I ain't no doctor or researcher or chemist, I might be wrong, and the cost I might pay for such a misconception might be severe, not only to me but to those around me too. Everywhere I went I had my mask and sanitizer and it has been that way for the past year. But this year has been different.

We made the mistake of being more lenient and brushing off what we were told. My auntie was still calling us and was making sure we were still awake and aware. We used to seat with my cousin and watch the news and see people in towns had stopped wearing masks and using sanitizers. Months later, a second wave attacked the country. As I write this, We are currently facing our third wave as a country. Tests are being done daily and so far the country has tested over a million people. Sadly, my auntie is now one of them.

Yesterday I was to go for my test but the hospital said I had to do a booking first, so I booked an appointment on Friday. Hopefully, I will come out negative and healthy. As for now though I am eagerly waiting. The swab is still something to think about but it is necessary, so all I'll say is “LET’S DO IT!” I was born ready.

Last week my cousin got infected with the virus. He has a podcast that I love called ‘ MAN TALK ’ that airs on Instagram which is really informative, you guys should check it out. https://www.instagram.com/mantalk.ke/. His name is Oscar Koome Mbabu. A young soul, that loves to work. I really feel disheartened when I think that a cousin of mine is going through something like this. I know he might have gotten it while doing the podcast cause they visit a lot of places so he might have picked it up there.

Nevertheless, we will stay strong and keep him in our hearts and prayers. The sad thing about one person getting this virus is that anyone who is close to him will get the virus too. My aunt, Oscar’s mother, his brother, Dennis, and His Father, my dearest Uncle, Mr. Mbabu, live with him. Through Oscar, Dennis got tested positive, my aunt also tested positive but not my Uncle. He knows he has diabetes and therefore keeps himself on guard at all times, this is what helps him and has helped him for all this time, so he will have a mask on at all times and make sure he is safe. Old age is still a factor to consider as Both my Aunt and uncle are over 50, so that is very important to keep in mind.

As I write this, my Aunt is breathing under a ventilator, in hospital because the virus is too strong for the body to fight without medical intervention. Sadly, my other Aunt, the sister to my uncle also has it, together with one of her daughters. This is not news I was expecting to hear but all those are almost six family members. And all these are people I grew up knowing. I feel for my auntie because she was one who was very serious about the virus and implemented numerous precautions against the disease but she is now a victim.

Emotionally It is draining because I cannot do a lot to help, I will just have to live it to the doctors and God to do their jobs and work their miracles. The most I can do though is to try and support them where I can. I would like to bring a few things to light. These are directives that will help you manage what might be hard to handle and minimalize panic and confusion.

  1. Do everything you can do to prevent yourself from getting infected.
  2. Do not stigmatize or treat a person anomalistically for testing positive.

3. Realize that covid is hard for everyone, the infected, the associates, the family, and also those around you.

4. If you do find that you are positive, do not panic, it will be alright. Just change a few things about your daily routine, try and minimize your movement and who you visit.

5. Quarantine yourself if you live with others, minimize the damage it has on one family.

6. Keep this sensitive news in private to reduce panic, if you live in an estate.

7. Lastly, Support those around you, and help them throughout their journey.

All these are a few steps to help you at this moment or at least what I have been able to know and collect. Do not look at yourself as a victim but rather look at this situation as a test to pick out the strong and to let them survive. This will give you more of a fighting spirit and more of a voluntary approach that will help you overcome this period.

--

--

Shem Martin
0 Followers

Hi? My name is Shem Martin, a freelance affiliate marketer, writer, student in automotive engineering, and a print-on-demand designer. Have fun looking around.